FLANDERS’20: Vlaanderen Van Der Poel Victory!


Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what’s cool in road cycling?

Classic Race Report: Three of the best riders of the season where together for for the victory in the 2020 Ronde van Vlaanderen. World champion, Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) was taken out by a motorbike leaving old enemies, Mathieu van der Poel (Fenix-Alpecin) and Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) to sprint it out at the line for the Dutch champion to take the victory.

*** The full ‘PEZ Classic Race Report’ very soon. ***

It was close at the line

Mathieu van der Poel won the 104th edition of the Tour of Flanders. After a race of 244 kilometres, the Alpecin-Fenix ​​rider beat his fellow break companion, Wout van Aert in a man-against-man sprint.

Van der Poel at the start

flanders20 map
flanders20 profile
De Ronde course

flanders 20
Cav’s last race?

flanders 20
The ‘Break of the Day’ led by Gregor Mühlberger (BORA-hansgrohe). He crashed when he caught his musette in his brake lever

Early for Christmas – The peloton pass through Sint-Niklaas

flanders20 alaphilippe
Bike change for the World champion, Julian Alaphilippe

CCC and Trek-Segafredo had control

Cold like the spring

van aert
Crash for Van Aert

The train slowed the peloton for a little time

Two World champions – Mark Cavendish and Julian Alaphilippe

There were some fans on the roadside, but not many

No fans on the Paterberg

The Break hung on for a long time – Gijs Van Hoecke (CCC) and Samuele Battistella (NTT)

Van der Poel staying close to the front

Alaphilippe made the winning move

Van der Poel, Van Aert and Alaphilippe away for the win

Just when it looked like we would have the top three riders of the moment fight for the victory, Alaphilippe hit the back of a motorbike

And then there were two

Together to the sprint

Tour of Flanders Result:
1. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix
2. Wout van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma
3. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
4. Anthony Turgis (Fra) Total Direct Energie
5. Yves Lampaert (Bel) Deceuninck – Quick Step
6. Dimitri Claeys (Bel) Cofidis
7. Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R-La Mondiale
8. Dylan van Baarle (Ned) INEOS Grenadiers
9. John Degenkolb (Ger) Lotto Soudal
10. Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Sunweb.

Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly newsletter to receive updates and reminders on what’s cool in road cycling?

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Review: Look X-Track Carbon mountain bike pedals have more support at XC weights
Friday Roundup: BIPOC Bikepacking grant, World Record, Eurobike cancelled & more!
Giro d’Italia LIVE: Follow live updates from the Giro d’Italia stage 14 time trial
Shimano 12-speed Mountain Bike Groups – Complete Tech Comparison!
Giro d’Italia: Filippo Ganna claims third victory as Joao Almeida extends lead

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *